8 Fold Path of Yoga – Patanjali

The main philosophy of yoga is simple: mind, body and spirit are all one and cannot be clearly separated.  But there are many philosophical ideas developed by looking into the deeper dimensions of the body, mind and spirit.

One of these is Patanjali’s 8 Fold Path of Yoga comprised of:

1. Yamas – Things not do do, restraints. Virtues

2. Niyamas – Things to do, personal observances

Together, the Yamas and Niyamas form a moral code of conduct.

3.  Asanas – Postures – Brings a sense of being present in one’s body –  to be inhabiting, existing, living in it.

4.  Pranayama – Breathing Techniques – working with the breath

5.  Pratyahara – To draw the senses inward.  By internalizing consciousness, pratyahara allows us to leave external circumstances in abeyance.  Things that might otherwise be an annoyance such as a sound or smell are now simply there.

6.  Dharana –  A state of focused concentration called Dharana

7.  Dyana – Meditation on the divine

8.  Samadhi – When thought and thinker dissolve into one, leading to a state of bliss, contentment, happiness